To New Beginnings…

So I was sitting all alone in my empty apartment, listening to classic Billie Holiday, when I received an email on my Google account. Like many of you reading this, I saw the subject line and decided to send it directly to my ‘spam’ folder. What struck me odd about this particular email was that the subject line promised to change my life if only I were willing to spend 20 hours a week blogging.

As fate would have it, when I went to my ‘spam’ folder to retrieve it, my email service emptied the folder at that very moment. Was it fate? Is my luck such that I cannot get a break? Luckily, this is not the first time I receive such a message but it is the first time that I actually stop to consider it.


What is surprising about this entire thing is not that I wanted to make money, but rather whether I have reached a point in my life where I have stopped trusting anything anyone says to me primarily because their motives aren’t made clear.
If a person promises to change your life, would you embrace the idea quickly or dismiss it because you don’t trust the messenger? I didn’t know the guy sharing his experience on my email. For all I knew, opening it meant being bombarded with more ads, which would have annoyed me but enriched his life a little more. Would I have been more trusting if the person was a friend? At what point in our lives do we allow for the possibility that people genuinely want to help without expecting anything in return?


I’m sure we’ve all been battered down by promises of grandeur only to discover that all it was was a fancy ride that led no where. But what if it did? What if during that aimless drive we came upon a side road, one that leads to better roads and faster shortcuts ahead? Well, I decided to take that chance and make my first blog a promise that even if the opportunity to improve my life came from someone whose intentions were selfish, I would accept to embark on that journey even if there is no clear destination. Life is full of rest stops. And I intend to pull over whenever I can.

In this particular case, I understood that regardless of how I feel about a person’s motives, I could not just allow any opportunity to go by without finding out if it is something I can do. How many chances to improve our lives have we failed to pursue for whatever reason? Even if the person making promises of change makes his or her motives known, we cannot dismiss the underlying fact that there is potential for gain. I understand that there are limits and jobs and opportunities that one cannot take part in. But if we, if I, am to make something of my life, then I guess I need to suck it up, bite my pride, and just take a chance.

And so I have. And will. Beginning this moment, whatever comes my way, whatever journey I may encounter or be invited to, I will get on board and pray that my actions prove beneficial to myself and the community I serve. It is my hope that in doing so, I will be able to return the favor and send out my own email promising others a chance to change.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Dec 23, 2009 @ 16:30:27

    I feel that sometimes we don’t take the time to read anymore. We are so caught up in our daily routines that we are missing so much of what is out there in the world. I can relate to your blog because I too have pass opportunities that can change my life. I’m glad that you started this blog because now I can reflect on what you write and in return I can learn something about you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

